About Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Übersetzer e.V. (BDÜ)

With a membership of over 7,500 translators and interpreters, BDÜ (Federal Association of Interpreters and Translators) is the industry’s largest professional association in Germany. BDÜ represents about 80% of all translators and interpreters who belong to a professional association in Germany and has been defending the interests of its individual members and the profession as a whole since 1955. Membership in BDÜ is a seal of quality that stands for professional translating and interpreting services, as the admission criteria are based on appropriate specialist qualifications. The membership database on the BDÜ website is a quick and easy search tool for highly sought-after communications experts covering more than 80 languages and wide-ranging areas of specialization.

Organizer of international professional conferences

Since its foundation, the BDÜ has held international conferences for our field regularly, as a meeting point and stimulus for the players in the business. In 2009, we launched the series of international conferences under the motto Übersetzen in die Zukunft, which the BDÜ now sponsors at regular intervals, with the help of its subsidiary BDÜ Weiterbildungs- und Fachverlagsgesellschaft mbH as the organizer. More than a thousand participants from forty countries met in Berlin at the conferences in 2009 and 2012. In 2014, the association organized, on behalf of the world federation of translator associations FIT (Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs) the 20th FIT World Congress, also in Berlin. 1,600 specialists in translation, interpreting, and terminology from all over the world took part.

Publisher of the journal MDÜ

The MDÜ, with a press run of about 8,500 copies, is the specialist journal for interpreters and translators in the German-speaking region with the widest circulation. In its six issues per year, it provides information on current developments in the business, and on the activities of the BDÜ as a representative of the interests of both free-lance and staff translators and interpreters. The professional conferences are prepared and accompanied by extensive coverage in the journal.

Über den Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Übersetzer (BDÜ)

Der BDÜ ist mit mehr als 7.500 Mitgliedern der größte deutsche Berufsverband der Branche. Er repräsentiert etwa 80 Prozent aller organisierten Dolmetscher und Übersetzer in Deutschland und setzt sich seit 1955 für die Interessen seiner Mitglieder sowie des gesamten Berufsstands ein. Eine BDÜ-Mitgliedschaft stellt ein Qualitätssiegel für professionelle Leistungen im Übersetzen und Dolmetschen dar, da eine Aufnahme in den Verband nur mit entsprechender fachlicher Qualifikation möglich ist. Die als Kommunikationsexperten für mehr als 80 Sprachen und eine Vielzahl von Fachgebieten gefragten BDÜ-Mitglieder sind in der Online-Datenbank auf der Verbandswebsite schnell und einfach zu finden.

Veranstalter internationaler Fachkonferenzen

Seit seiner Gründung richtet der BDÜ regelmäßig internationale Branchen-Konferenzen als Treffpunkte und Impulsgeber für die Akteure der Branche aus. Im Jahr 2009 fiel der Startschuss für die internationale Fachkonferenz-Reihe unter dem Motto "Übersetzen in die Zukunft", die der BDÜ mit Hilfe seines Tochterunternehmens BDÜ Weiterbildungs- und Fachverlagsgesellschaft mbH als Ausrichter in regelmäßigen Abständen durchführt. Bei den Konferenzen der Jahre 2009 und 2012 trafen sich jeweils mehr als 1.000 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus 40 Ländern in Berlin. 2014 organisierte der Verband im Auftrag des Weltübersetzerverbandes FIT (Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs) ebenfalls in Berlin den 20. FIT-Weltkongress, an dem 1.600 Fachleute für Übersetzen, Dolmetschen und Terminologie aus der ganzen Welt teilnahmen.

Herausgeber der Fachzeitschrift MDÜ

Das MDÜ ist mit etwa 8.500 gedruckten Exemplaren die auflagenstärkste Fachzeitschrift für Dolmetscher und Übersetzer im deutschsprachigen Raum. In sechs Ausgaben pro Jahr informiert das Heft über aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Branche sowie über das Engagement des BDÜ als Interessensvertretung sowohl für die selbstständig tätigen als auch für die angestellten Übersetzer und Dolmetscher. Die Fachkonferenzen werden durch ausführliche Berichterstattung im Heft vorbereitet und begleitet.