Call for papers

Call for papers als PDF herunterladen (deutsch)

Call for papers PDF download (english)

Following in the footsteps of BDÜ's 2009 and 2012 Conferences, and the FIT Congress hosted in 2014—all of which took place in Berlin—true to its motto of “Interpreting the Future”, the BDÜ will organise another three-day international conference in November 2019, on the topic of: “Translating and Interpreting 4.0 — New Ways in the Digital Age”

TRANSLATING AND INTERPRETING 4.0.
New ways in the digital age

Translating and interpreting are the professions of specialists who leverage their expert knowledge and language skills to enable companies and institutions, banks and insurance companies, courts and law firms to communicate on a global scale.

Yet we find ourselves in the midst of fundamental upheaval affecting all sectors, with artificial intelligence, Big Data, the Internet of Things and blockchain applications being just a few examples of the concepts brought about by digitalisation. Not only are these technologies changing the manner in which customers of translators and interpreters work, how they produce and use language content, how they procure language services: they are also altering how translators and interpreters themselves work, and how they interact with their customers. As a consequence, quite a few business models pursued by freelance translators and interpreters, language service providers or corporate language services — which have been working reasonably well so far—will turn out to be a thing of the past in the foreseeable future.

We want to discuss these challenges, and the future of the language services sector, at the 2019 edition of “Interpreting the Future”. Together, we are keen to explore how future-proof our business models really are—discussing which of the emerging opportunities to position yourself on the market might offer the best chances for success in the future. We intend to examine which linguistic, professional, business and social skills of customer-focused service providers will be in focus.

Talks, workshops and brief seminars — as well as a trade fair, networking platform and a jobs exchange — will bring together buyers, authorities, universities, software tool providers, students, as well as professional translators and interpreters.

Some of the presentations and discussions will be interpreted simultaneously into German and English. In brief seminars and workshops, translators and interpreters will be able to enhance their qualifications in various areas of specialisation, bringing their knowledge up to speed—or to find orientation regarding a specialisation they may be contemplating.

At the accompanying trade fair, visitors will be able to inform themselves about machine translation and translation memory systems, information management tools, the latest reference works as well as service offers for translators and interpreters. At a networking platform and job agency, interested visitors will have the opportunity of presenting themselves to renowned companies and institutions, establishing direct contacts with potential customers or employers—as well as with colleagues having the same (or complementary) areas of specialisation.

Expert translators and interpreters, and specialists from the sectors and areas mentioned below, are invited to submit proposals for presentations, brief seminars or workshops covering the following topics, by 15 February 2019:

  • How artificial intelligence changes the collaboration of translators and interpreters with their customers — requiring new skills
  • How language content is produced, processed and used in the age of Industry 4.0
  • Specialist language (technical, IT, medical, legal, media …)
  • Machine translation and computerassisted translation in practice
  • How technology-savvy do translators/interpreters have to be?
  • Writing skills and being fully articulate in one's mother tongue
  • Marketing—market positioning—negotiation techniques
  • Relaxation techniques, ergonomics, health at the workplace
  • Interpreting: specialists vs. generalists—locally or remote
  • Data protection and professional ethics

All those who would like to share and present their knowledge and experience are invited to submit a summary outline of up to 2000 characters by 15 February 2019. The presentation languages are German and English. The following event formats are possible:

  • Presentations (max. 30 minutes, whereby the number of participants is generally unlimited); discussion between speakers and participants will follow individual presentation blocks
  • Panel discussions (90 minutes, whereby the number of participants is generally unlimited)
  • Brief seminars (90 or 180 minutes, up to 100 participants)
  • Workshops (90 or 180 minutes, up to 25 participants)

When submitting your summary outline, please indicate the level which your contribution targets in particular: fundamentals/beginners, advanced level, or all participants. All the accepted talks will be released in a conference publication, which will be available in time for the convention.

Submit your abstract here

We will inform you by 31 March 2019 whether your proposal has been accepted. The detailed conference programme will be announced on 30 April 2019. To be included in the conference publication, the finished presentations must be submitted by 1 August 2019. For more information, please go to www.uebersetzen-in-die-zukunft.de or send us an e-mail on konferenz@bdue.de.

Call for papers

Call for papers als PDF herunterladen (deutsch)

Call for papers PDF download (english)

Nach den beiden Vorgängerkonferenzen von 2009 und 2012 und dem FIT-Kongress von 2014, die alle erfolgreich in Berlin durchgeführt wurden, veranstaltet der Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Übersetzer e.V. (BDÜ) im November 2019 in der Reihe „Übersetzen in die Zukunft“ erneut eine dreitägige internationale Konferenz zum Thema

DOLMETSCHEN UND ÜBERSETZEN 4.0.
Neue Wege im digitalen Zeitalter

Das Dolmetschen und Übersetzen ist eine Arbeit für Spezialisten, die durch ihr fachliches Wissen und ihr sprachliches Können dafür sorgen, dass Unternehmen und Institutionen, Banken und Versicherungen, Gerichte und Kanzleien global kommunizieren können.

Wir befinden uns jedoch in einer Zeit des Umbruchs, die alle Branchen betrifft – Künstliche Intelligenz, Big Data, Internet der Dinge und Blockchain-Anwendungen sind nur einige Schlagwörter und Aspekte der „Digitalisierung“. Mit der Einführung dieser Technologien verändert sich die Art und Weise, wie die Kunden von Übersetzern und Dolmetschern arbeiten, sprachlichen Content produzieren/nutzen und Sprachdienstleistungen beschaffen, wie Übersetzer und Dolmetscher selbst arbeiten, und wie Übersetzer und Dolmetscher mit ihren Kunden zusammenarbeiten. Damit wird sich auch so manches Geschäftsmodell von freien Übersetzern und Dolmetschern, Sprachdienstleistungsunternehmen und hausinternen Sprachendiensten, das bisher noch ganz leidlich funktioniert, in absehbarer Zukunft als Auslaufmodell erweisen.

Auf der BDÜ-Konferenz „Übersetzen in die Zukunft“ 2019 wollen wir diese Herausforderungen und die Zukunft der Branche diskutieren. Gemeinsam wollen wir unsere Geschäftsmodelle auf ihre Zukunftstauglichkeit überprüfen, herausfinden, welche neu entstehenden Möglichkeiten zur Positionierung am Markt künftig möglicherweise Erfolg versprechen, welche sprachlichen, fachlichen, unternehmerischen und sozialen Kompetenzen kundenorientierter Dienstleister in den Fokus rücken.

Dazu sollen Vorträge, Workshops, Kurzseminare, eine Fachmesse sowie eine Netzwerk- und Stellenbörse Auftraggeber, Behörden, Hochschulen, Anbieter von Softwarewerkzeugen, Studierende und professionelle Dolmetscher/-innen und Übersetzer/-innen miteinander ins Gespräch bringen.

Ein Teil der Vorträge und Diskussionen wird simultan in die Sprachen Deutsch und Englisch gedolmetscht. In Kurzseminaren und Workshops können sich Dolmetscher/-innen und Übersetzer/-innen in verschiedenen Spezialisierungen weiterbilden, ihr Wissen auf den neuesten Stand bringen oder sich im Hinblick auf eine eventuell beabsichtigte Spezialisierung eine erste Orientierung verschaffen.

Auf der begleitenden Fachmesse können sich die Besucher über Systeme für maschinelle Übersetzung, Translation-Memory-Systeme, Werkzeuge zum Informationsmanagement, die neuesten Nachschlagewerke und Dienstleistungsangebote für Übersetzer/-innen und Dolmetscher/-innen informieren. Im Rahmen einer Netzwerk- und Stellenbörse können Interessierte sich namhaften Unternehmen/Institutionen vorstellen und direkte Kontakte mit potenziellen Arbeit-/Auftraggebern sowie mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen gleicher oder ergänzender Spezialisierung knüpfen.

Experten aus den Bereichen Übersetzen und Dolmetschen sowie aus den unten genannten Fachgebieten/Branchen sind eingeladen, bis 31. Januar 2019 Vorschläge für Vorträge, Kurzseminare oder Workshops zu folgenden Themenfeldern einzureichen:

  • Wie künstliche Intelligenz die Zusammenarbeit von Dolmetschern und Übersetzern mit ihren Kunden verändert und neue Kompetenzen erforderlich macht
  • Wie im Zeitalter der Industrie 4.0 sprachlicher Content produziert, verarbeitet und genutzt wird
  • Fachsprache (Technik, IT, Medizin, Recht, Medien, …)
  • Maschinelle Übersetzung und Computer Assisted Translation in der Anwendung
  • Wie viel Technik muss ein D/Ü können?
  • Schreibkompetenz/Ausdrucksfähigkeit in der Muttersprache
  • Marketing, Marktpositionierung, Verhandlungstechniken
  • Entspannungstechniken, Ergonomie, Arbeitsgesundheit
  • Dolmetschen – Spezialist vs. Generalist, vor Ort oder remote
  • Datenschutz und Berufsethik

Interessenten werden gebeten, bis zum 31. Januar 2019 einen Abstract von bis zu 2.000 Zeichen einzureichen. Vortragssprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch. Die folgenden Veranstaltungsformate sind vorgesehen:

  • Vorträge (max. 30 Minuten, Teilnehmerzahl in der Regel unbegrenzt) an die einzelnen Vortragsblöcke schließen sich Diskussionen zwischen Referenten und Teilnehmern an
  • Podiumsdiskussionen (90 Minuten, Teilnehmerzahl in der Regel unbegrenzt)
  • Kurzseminare (90 oder 180 Minuten, bis zu 100 Teilnehmer)
  • Workshops (90 oder 180 Minuten, max. 25 Teilnehmer)

Bitte geben Sie bei der Einreichung Ihres Abstracts auch an, an welches Teilnehmerniveau sich Ihr Beitrag vor allem richtet: Grundlagen/Anfänger, Fortgeschrittene oder alle Teilnehmer/-innen. Die angenommenen Vorträge werden in einem Tagungsband veröffentlicht, der zum Termin der Konferenz erhältlich sein wird.

Hier können Sie Ihren Abstract einreichen

Wir benachrichtigen Sie bis zum 31. März 2019, ob Ihr Vorschlag angenommen wurde. Am 30. April 2019 wird das detaillierte Programm der Konferenz bekannt gegeben. Zur Aufnahme in den Tagungsband müssen die ausgearbeiteten Vorträge bis 1. August 2019 eingereicht werden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Internet unter www.uebersetzen-in-die-zukunft.de oder senden Sie uns eine E-Mail an konferenz@bdue.de.